Hot Dog Delight

What A Feast.

Posted on: December 3, 2009

The only thing harder than going to work on a Monday after a long weekend is going to work on a Monday after Thanksgiving.  Thank goodness the week is almost over.  It’s been a long one!

They don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in China.  But they do have a fancy buffet dinner at the Sheraton Hotel for foreigners or anyone else who wants to spend 258RMB for an all you can eat dinner.  I had turkey, mashed potatoes, sushi, sashimi, scallops, crab legs, and lots of desserts.  I ate 4 plates of food, and 2 plates of desserts.  I had about 8-10 scoops (little scoops) of Haagen-daz ice cream.  I tried all the flavors since Haagen-daz in China isn’t cheap.  It’s around 60-70RMB for just a couple of scoops!  So of course I had to seize the opportunity and eat as much as I could.

To prepare for the event, I even went to the gym!  I started running again.  After running 10 minutes on the treadmill, I wanted to stop.  After running 20 minutes, I wanted to vomit.  But I pushed myself to run 10 more minutes after that for a total of 30 minutes, because it was absurd how out of shape I was!  I said in my head, “Dammit, Diane!  You can run for 30 minutes, just DO IT!” So I did.  But it wasn’t enjoyable.  And I was exhausted.  I’ve run 2 more times after that, and each time, it is just as painful as the last.  What a long and slow process, being fit is.  But as you are all my witnesses, I will be fit again…one day!

Anyway, I’m glad I started running again, because I think that night, I ate the most I’d ever eaten…in my life!  It was pretty intense.  A group of us from WorldTeach went.  There were 25 altogether.  We sat there for approximately 4 hours, eating, chatting, drinking, eating, resting, and then eating some more.  By the end of the night, I was definitely in a food high.  I had to breathe with my mouth open!  I’m not sure if this is TMI (too much information), but I did make a pit stop to the bathroom during the middle of the evening to free up some space, if you know what I mean (and if you don’t, I mean stuff passed through my system, the natural way).  I couldn’t help it!  It was unplanned, but it allowed me to eat some more, which I was grateful for.

Even though it was a pricey dinner, it was well worth it.  Without a doubt, I ate 258RMB’s worth of food!

2 Responses to "What A Feast."

Sounds like my kind of feast, especially the sushi and Haagen-daz. I hate exercise, but have reached the realization that I have to start. Genetics and inclination have put me in the danger zone. Keep it up. I’ll be trudging along on the other side of the world, grimacing and grumbling. 🙂

Please stop by my blog at your earliest convenience. Something special for you there.

Leave a Reply

